Heisman Trophy Recipient Announced

Luke Godwin, Staff Writer

On Monday December 6th, College Football’s media analysts released the finalists for the most prestigious individual award in College Football: the Heisman Trophy. The Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding player in College Football. 


Saturday December 11th, the winner of the Heisman was announced. One should get familiar with the finalists and why they are up for the award. The finalists include Michigan’s defensive end Aidan Hutchinson, Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett, Ohio State Quarterback C.J. Stroud and Alabama quarterback Bryce Young.


Hutchinson, who is the only non quarterback selected, had quite the season. He finished the regular season with 58 total tackles, 14 sacks, which rank second in the Nation, two forced fumbles and one fumble recovery. Hutchinson also won the Big Ten Defensive player of the Year.


Pickett set the single season record for touchdown passes in the ACC with 43. He added 4,319 passing yards and a 67.2% completion percentage. Pickett was a key cog in winning Pittsburgh their first ACC title.


Stroud finished the regular season with 38 touchdowns to 5 interceptions. Stroud also added over 3,800 yards. His performance against Michigan State on November 20th saw him tie the single game record for touchdown passes with six.


Finally, Bryce Young finished second in the nation with 43 touchdown passes and only threw 4 interceptions. He also had over 4,300 yards. Young led Alabama on route to an SEC championship and a berth to the College Football Playoff. 


There is an argument for each and every one of these men but ultimately the voters decided that Bryce Young is to be the winner of the 2021 Heisman Trophy. Young has become the fourth Crimson Tide player to win the Award since 2009. He is Alabama’s first Quarterback to ever win the award. Young will look to add to this spectacular season with a National Championship.